The National Black Caucus of State Legislators (NBCSL) primary mission is to develop, conduct and promote educational, research and training programs designed to enhance the effectiveness of its members, as they consider legislation and issues of public policy which impact, either directly or indirectly upon "the general welfare" of African American constituents within their respective jurisdictions.


In support of its mission, NBCSL has adopted the following fundamental objectives:

  1. To serve as a national network and clearinghouse for the discussion, dissemination, and exchange of ideas and information among African American state legislators and their staffs;
  2. To provide research, training, and educational services to African American state legislators and their staff.
  3. To improve the effectiveness and quality of African American state legislators; and
  4. To serve as a strong, united, and effective advocate for African American state legislators and their constituencies at the federal level.

Membership Forms

Region I
- CT, MA, NH, NJ, RI, VT

Rep Ray Hull


Rep. Ray Hull (RI)

RepAndreBaker CT

Vice Chair

Rep. Andre Baker, Jr. (CT)

Region II - PA, NY

Rep Nick Perry


Rep. Nick Perry (NY)

RepJoannaMcClinton PA

Vice Chair

Rep. Joanna E. McClinton (PA)

Region III - DE, MD

Del Nathaniel Oaks


Del. Nathaniel T. Oaks (MD)

Delsheree.sample MD

Vice Chair

Del. Sheree Sample-Hughes (MD)

Region IV - KY, TN, VA, WV

Repgeorgebrown KY


Rep. George Brown, Jr. (KY)

rep.larry.miller TN

Vice Chair

Rep. Larry Miller (TN)

Region V - NC, SC

Sen Gladys.Robinson NC


Sen. Gladys Robinson (NC)

Rep Harold Mitchell

Vice Chair

Rep. Harold Mitchell, Jr. (SC)

Region VI - FL, GA

Rep Sharon Beasley Teague


Rep. Sharon Beasley Teague (GA)

SenAudreyGIbson FL

Vice Chair

Sen. Audrey Gibson (FL)

Region VII - AL, MS

Rep Willie Perkins


Rep. Willie J. Jenkins, Sr. (MS)

Rep Juandalynn Givan

Vice Chair

Rep. Juandalynn Givan (AL)

Region VIII - IL, IN, MN

Rep Charlie Brown


Rep. Charlie Brown (IN)

RepCarol Ammons

Vice Chair

Rep. Carol Ammons (IL)

Region IX - MI, OH, WI

Sen Lena Taylor


Sen. Lena Taylor (WI)

Sen Charleta Tavares

Vice Chair

Sen. Charleta Tavares (OH)

Region X - AR, LA, NM, OK, TX

Sen Anastasia Pittman


Sen. Anastasia Pittman (OK)

RepTedJames LA

Vice Chair

Rep. Ted James (LA)

Region XI - IA, KS, MO, NE

Rep Karla May


Rep. Karla May (MO)

Rep.GailMcCann Beatty MP

Vice Chair

Rep. Gail McCann-Beatty (MO)

Region XII - AK, AZ, CA, CO, MT, NV, OR, SD, UT, WA

RepDina.Neal NV


Rep. Dina Neal (NV)

RepReginaldBolding AZ

Vice Chair

Rep. Reginald Bolding Jr. (AZ)


wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women wigs for women