California Legislative Black Caucus Elects New Leadership

August 25, 2022
post image

(CBM) SACRAMENTO The 12 member California Legislative Black Caucus (CLBC) elected Assemblywoman Lori D. Wilson (D-Suisun City) and Sen. Steven Bradford (D-Gardena) to serve as its Chair and Vice-Chair for the 2023-2024 legislative session.

Assemblymember Akilah Weber (D-San Diego) was elected secretary and Assemblymember Isaac G. Bryan (D-Los Angeles) was elected treasurer. The newly elected officers will begin their two-year terms in December.

It is a great honor to have been elected chair of the California Legislative Black Caucus, said Assemblymember Wilson. I look forward to working with my colleagues to uplift over two million Black residents living in California, Wilson said in a statement.

The change of leadership occurs less than a year after Bradford (the current CLBC chair) was awarded the Regional Legislator of the Year award from the National Black Caucus of State Legislators (NBCSL) during their 45th Annual Legislative Conference in Atlanta in November.

NBCSL is the nation’s premier organization representing and serving the interests of African American State legislators. It considers legislation and issues of public policy which impact, either directly or indirectly upon the general welfare of African American constituents within their respective jurisdictions.

Read Original Article