2018 Awards Recipients

Living Legend Award

Watch Video


Former Mayor of New York City & New York State Assemblyman

Nation Builder Awards

The Nation Builder Awards were established to recognize those African Americans who have distinguished themselves through lifelong service and dedication to the enfranchisement and inclusion of Americans of African descent into the national body of politics. In 1995, the Nation Builder Awards Ceremony was renamed to honor the late David P. Richardson, Jr. (1948-95), a 23-year member of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives and NBCSL’s third president. NBCSL is proud to honor National and State Nation Builder Honorees who have made significant contributions to, and laid the foundation for the political, economic, and social progress of African Americans.


National Honoree

Stanley Nelson Jr.

Award-winning Documentary Filmmaker
National Honoree

Shaun King

Journalist, Humanitarian and Social Activist
National Honoree

Stephanie Ybarra

Rising Star, Theater Producer


State Honoree — Georgia

Shirley Green-Reese, Ph.D.

Civil Rights Veteran, Professor, and Women’s Sports Influencer
State Honoree — New York

Lillian Roberts

Labor Leader and Pioneer
State Honoree — Texas

Demetris Sampson, Esq.

Powerhouse Attorney

David S. Holmes Awards

The purpose of the David S. Holmes awards is to reflect on and honor the contributions made throughout the past year by legislators and supporters. Each year, NBCSL has the distinct honor of presenting several awards to deserving members of the organization.
NBCSL Lifetime Achievement Award

Representative Helen Miller (IA)

Corporate Achievement & Image Award

Ramon Looby, Bank of America

Regis F. Groff Youth Award

Ramon Contreras

NBCSL Labor Leader of the Year Award

Hasan Solomon (Machinists Union)

NBCSL Labor Leader of the Year Award

Terrence Melvin (NYS AFL-CIO and CBTU)

NBCSL Crystal Gavel Award

Assemblyman Carl E. Heastie (NY)

NBCSL Crystal Gavel Award

Senator Andrea Stewart-Cousins (NY)

NBCSL Crystal Gavel Award

Representative Sheldon Neeley (MI)

Legislator of the Year Award

Assemblyman N. Nick Perry (NY)

Award Recipients Archive