Honoring those who have paved the way

NBCSL's Nation Builder Awards

Each year at the Annual Legislative Conference, NBCSL presents its most prestigious awards, the David P. Richardson Jr. Nation Builder Awards. The Nation Builder Awards were established to recognize those African Americans who have distinguished themselves through lifelong service and dedication to the enfranchisement and inclusion of Americans of African descent into the national body of politics. In 1995, the Nation Builder Awards Ceremony was renamed to honor the late David P. Richardson, Jr.  (1948-95), a 23-year member of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives, one of the founding members of NBCSL and the organization’s third president. Every year, NBCSL is proud to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to, and laid the foundation for the political, economic, and social progress of African Americans.

Past recipients of the David P. Richardson Jr. Nation Builder Awards include President Barack H. Obama, Shirley Chisholm, Dr. Dorothy I. Height, Marian Wright Edelman, Lana “MC Lyte” Moorer, Beverly Bond, Hill Harper, Forest Whitaker, Tom Joyner, S. Lee Merritt, Esq., the Rep. John Conyers, Jr.—just to name a few. In 2018, NBCSL presented Stephanie Ybarra, Shaun King, and Stanley Nelson with its National Nation Builder Awards.

The 2019 “Nation Builder Awards Ceremony” will be held on Friday, December 6, 2019, in Fort Lauderdale, FL.

Nation Builder Awards 2018

State Nation Builder Awards

NBCSL also honors State Nation Builders each year, recognizing the achievements of individuals making a difference in their states and deserve to be acknowledged for their leadership on a national scale. In 2018,  Lillian Roberts (New York), Shirley Green-Reese (Georgia), and DeMetris Sampson Esq. (Texas) received the state level award.

This is an opportunity for NBCSL’s legislative members to pay tribute to someone special their state, and highlight his or her contributions in a national forum. This year, we will select up to three individuals to honor as State Nation Builders to be recognized during NBCSL’s “Nation Builder Awards Ceremony” on Friday, December 6, 2019, in Fort Lauderdale, FL.

Interested in nominating someone from your state?

Please click below for the 2019 nomination form.

2019 Nation Builder Award Nomination Form

2019 Nation Builder Memorandum

All nominations must be submitted by September 17, 2019.