Back to Law, Justice, and Ethics (LJE)

Resolution LJE-21-11


WHEREAS, the National Black Caucus of State Legislators (NBCSL) is proud to have diverse membership that seeks to ensure that women are equally represented and valued, without the contributions of our many dedicated hard-working female legislators we would not be the organization that we are today;

WHEREAS, 2020 marks the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, which secured women's right to vote;

WHEREAS, the State of Tennessee was the thirty-sixth and deciding state to pass the 19th Amendment by final vote of the General Assembly on August 18, 1920;

WHEREAS, 2020 also marks the first time in history that an African American woman is Vice Presidential nominee for a major political party, monumental moment in equality;

WHEREAS, on November 3, 2020 the United States elected Sen. Kamala Devi Harris to be Vice-President of United States of America, Vice President-elect Kamala Harris is the first woman to ever hold the office of President of Vice President of United States, and the first African American to be Vice-President; 

WHEREAS, suffragists had struggled from 1850 to 1920 to secure this basic right and history books often do not adequately address this rich heritage, particularly the drama of the final vote in Tennessee; 

WHEREAS, another milestone for women in American history occurred in 1968, when Congresswoman Shirley Chisholm became the first African American woman elected to Congress, representing New York's 12th congressional district, and was sworn in fifty years ago as a member of the 91st United States Congress;

WHEREAS, historic events for women continue as we approach the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment, as January 2019 saw a record-breaking 100 women sworn in as members of the 116th United States Congress; and 

WHEREAS, the NBCSL joins in this celebration of women and the commemoration of this significant event in American history.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the National Black Caucus of State Legislators (NBCSL), joins in the appreciation and celebration, commemorating the 100th anniversary on which the women of America gained the right to vote;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the NBCSL congratulates Vice President-elect Kamala Harris on her victory and historic achievement;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the NBCSL recognizes and applauds all the sacrifices made by those many women who have worked to ensure women are treated equally in our society; and 

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that a copy of this resolution be transmitted to the President of the United States, the Vice President of the United States, members of the United States House of Representatives and the United States Senate, and other federal and state government officials and agencies as appropriate.

SPONSOR(S): Senator Brenda Gilmore (TN), Representative Barbara Ballard (KS), Representative Billy Mitchell (GA), Representative G.A. Hardaway (TN), Senator Raumesh Akbari (TN), Representative Rick Staples (TN), Representative London Lamar (TN),  Representative Vincent Dixie (TN), Representative Jesse Chism (TN), Representative John DeBerry (TN), Representative Antonio Parkinson (TN), Representative Larry Miller (TN), Representative Joe Towns (TN), Representative Barbara Cooper (TN), Representative Johnny Shaw (TN), Representative Karen Camper (TN), Representative Harold Love, Jr. (TN), Senator Katrina Robinson (TN), Representative Yusuf Hakeem (TN), Representative Toni Rose (TX), Representative Debra Bazemore (GA), Senator Karla May (MO), Representative Cherrish Pryor (IN), Representative Sandra Scott (GA), and Representative Karen Bennett (GA)
Committee of Jurisdiction: Law, Justice, and Ethics Policy Committee
Certified by Committee Chair: Representative Reginald Meeks (KY)
Ratified in Plenary Session: Ratification Date is December 3, 2020
Ratification is certified by: Representative Gilda Cobb-Hunter (SC), President

We have much to accomplish together.  Learn about our legislative and private sector memberships.