NBCSL is the nation's premier organization exclusively representing and serving the interests of African American State legislators and their constituents. Our members hail from 47 states, the District of Columbia and the Virgin Islands and represent more than 60 million Americans of various racial backgrounds.

The section below shows some of our membership at a glance. Click on a state to see that state’s African-American statehouse leaders.

Alabama
Senator Bobby D. Singleton, (Minority Leader)
District: 24
address: 11 S Union Street Suite 740 Montgomery, AL 36130
phone: (334) 261-0335
Representative Napoleon Bracy, (Caucus Chair)
District: 98
address: 104 South Lawrence Street Mobile, 36602
phone: (334) 261-0556
email: napoleon@napoleonbracy.com
Arkansas
Senator Linda Chesterfield, (Senate Minority Whip)
District: 12
address: 12 Keo Drive, Little Rock, 72206
phone: 501-888-1859
email: lchesterfield47@gmail.com
Representative Vivian Flowers, (Minority Whip)
District: 65
address: P.O. Box 3156, Pine Bluff, AR 71611-3156
phone: 870-329-8356
email: vivian.flowers@arkansashouse.org
Representative Jay Richardson, (Caucus Chair)
District: 78
address: P.O. Box 4403, Fort Smith, 72914
phone: (501) 682-7771
email: jay.richardson@arkansashouse.org
Representative Fred Allen, (Assistant Speaker Pro Tempore)
District: 77
address: 19 Dover Drive Little Rock, AR 72204-4262
phone: 501-804-7844
email: fredallen99@comcast.net
California
Senator Lola Smallwood-Cuevas, (Senate Rules Committee)
District: 28
address: 1021 O Street, Suite 6510, Sacramento, CA 95814
phone: (916) 651-4028
Assemblywoman Lori D. Wilson, (Majority Whip & Caucus Chair)
District: 11
address: 1261 Travis Blvd., Ste. 110, Fairfield, CA 94533
phone: (707) 399-3011
Colorado
Representative Jennifer Bacon, (Caucus Chair)
District: 7
address: 200 E Colfax RM 307 Denver, 80203 United States
phone: (303) 866-2909
email: jennifer.bacon.house@state.co.us
Connecticut
Senator Patricia Billie Miller, (Caucus Chair)
District: 27
address: Legislative Office Building Room 2300 Hartford, 06106-1591
phone: (860) 240-0589
email: Patricia.Miller@cga.ct.gov
Delaware
Representative Melissa Minor-Brown, (House Majority Leader)
District: 17
phone: 302-744-4351
email: Melissa.MinorBrown@delaware.gov
Representative Kendra Johnson, (Caucus Chair)
District: 5
address: 411 Legislative Ave. Dover, 19901
phone: (302) 577-8476
email: Kendra.Johnson@delaware.gov
Florida
Representative Fentrice Driskell, (House Minority Leader)
District: 67
address: Suite 103, 13250 North 56th Street. Tampa, FL 33617-1168
phone: (813) 936-0854
Representative Dianne “Ms Dee” Hart, (Caucus Chair)
District: 63
address: 3911 North Tampa Street Tampa, 33603-4745
phone: (850) 717-5063
email: dhartconsulting@yahoo.com
Georgia
Senator Harold Jones II, (Democratic Whip)
District: 22
address: 121-B State Capitol, Atlanta, GA 30334
phone: (404) 656-0036
Representative Sandra Scott, (Minority Caucus Chief)
District: 76
address: 611-D Coverdell Legislative Office Bldg. Atlanta, GA 30334
phone: (404) 656-0314
Representative Park Cannon, (Democratic Caucus Secretary)
District: 58
address: 512-F Coverdell Legislative Office Bldg., Atlanta, GA 30334
phone: (404) 656-7859
Representative Karen Bennett, (Minority Caucus Vice-Chairman)
District: 94
address: 507-A Coverdell Legislative Office Bldg. Atlanta, GA 30334
phone: (404) 656-30087
Representative James Beverly, (Minority Leader)
District: 143
address: 609-F Coverdell Legislative Office Bldg, Atlanta, GA 30334
phone: (404) 656-5058
Representative Carl Gilliard, (Caucus Chair)
District: 162
address: 512-G Coverdell Legislative Office Bldg. Atlanta, 30334
phone: (404) 656-7859
email: carl.gilliard@house.ga.gov
Representative Billy Mitchell, (Chairman of the House Minority Caucus)
District: 88
address: 608 Coverdell Legislative Office Bldg, Atlanta, GA 30334
phone: (404) 656-0298
Illinois
Senator Napoleon B. Harris III, (Majority Caucus Whip)
District: 15
address: 1350 E. Sibley Blvd., Suite 403 Dolton, IL 60419
phone: (708) 893-0552
Senator Kimberly A. Lightford, (Majority Leader)
District: 4
address: High Point Plaza, 4415 W. Harrison St. Suite 550, Hillside, IL 60162
phone: (708) 632-4500
Senator Elgie R. Sims Jr., (Majority Caucus Appropriations Leader)
District: 17
address: 8233 S. Princeton, Chicago, IL 60620
phone: 773.933.7715
Representative Jehan A. Gordon-Booth, ( Deputy Majority Leader/Speaker Pro Tempore)
District: 92
address: 300 E. War Memorial Drive, Suite 303, Peoria, IL 61614
phone: (309) 681-1992
Representative Emanuel “Chris” Welch, (Speaker of the House)
District: 7
address: 10055 Roosevelt Road, Suite E Westchester, IL 60154
phone: (708) 450-1000
Representative Carol Ammons, (Caucus Chair)
District: 103
address: 407 E. University Ave. Ste. A Champaign, 61820
phone: (217) 531-1660
email: Assistance@StateRepCarolAmmons.com
Indiana
Senator Greg Taylor, (Minority Leader)
District: 33
address: 200 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
phone: 800-382-9467
Representative Earl L. Harris, Jr., (Caucus Chair)
District: 2
address: 200 W. Washington St. Indianapolis, 46204
phone: 317-232-9827
email: h2@iga.in.gov
Kansas
Senator Oletha Faust-Goudeau, ( Assistant Minority Leader & Caucus Chair)
District: 29
address: P.O.Box 20335, Wichita KS 67208
phone: (316) 652-9067
email: Oletha.Faust-Goudeau@senate.ks.gov
Representative Barbara Ballard, (House Minority Caucus Chair)
District: 44
address: 2350 Petefish Drive Lawrence, KS 66045
phone: (785) 864-4900
Kentucky
Senator Reginald Thomas, (Minority Caucus Chair)
District: 13
address: 702 Capital Ave, Annex Room 254 Frankfort, KY 40601
phone: 502-564-2470
email: Reginald.Thomas@lrc.ky.gov
Senator Gerald A. Neal, (Senate Minority Leader)
District: 33
address: 702 Capital Ave, Annex Room 254, Frankfort, KY 40601
phone: 502-584-8500
email: Gerald.Neal@lrc.ky.gov
Representative George Brown Jr., (Caucus Chair)
District: 77
address: 702 Capital Ave Annex Room 429D Frankfort, 40601
phone: 859-312-7513
email: George.Brown@lrc.ky.gov
Representative Derrick Graham, (Minority Floor Leader)
District: 57
address: 157 Bellemeade Dr, Frankfort, KY 40601
phone: 502-223-1769
email: Derrick.Graham@lrc.ky.gov
Louisiana
Senator Yolanda J. Dixon, (Secretary of The Senate)
address: P.O. Box 94183 / 900 N. 3rd St. Basement Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062
phone: (225) 342-6184
Senator John Keller, (Senate Sergeant at Arms)
address: P.O. Box 94183 / 900 N. 3rd St., Basement Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062
phone: (225) 342-6198
Representative Sam L. Jenkins, Jr., (Minority Leader)
District: 2
address: 2419 Kings Hwy. Shreveport, LA 71103
phone: (318) 632-5970
email: jenkinss@legis.la.gov
Representative Vincent J. Pierre, (Caucus Chair)
District: 44
address: 718 S. Buchanan Street Lafayette, 70501
phone: (225) 342-6945
email: pierrev@legis.la.gov
Maryland
Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, (Speaker Pro Tempore)
address: 6 Bladen Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
phone: 410-841-3427
email: Sheree.Sample.Hughes@house.state.md.us
Delegate Jheanelle K. Wilkins, (Caucus Chair)
District: 20
address: 131 Taylor House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, 21401
phone: 410-841-3493 | 301-858-3493
email: jheanelle.wilkins@house.state.md.us
Delegate Jazz Lewis, (House Majority Whip)
District: 24
address: 1801 McCormick Dr. Suite 400, Largo, MD 20774
phone: 410-841-3691
email: jazz.lewis@house.state.md.us
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, (House Chair)
District: 10
address: Address: 8419 Liberty Road, Suite B, Windsor Mill, MD 21244
phone: 410-655-3090
email: adrienne.jones@house.state.md.us
Massachusetts
Representative Chynah Tyler, (Caucus Chair)
District: 7
address: 24 Beacon St. Room 33 Boston, 02133
phone: (617) 722-2060
email: Chynah.Tyler@mahouse.gov
Michigan
Senator Erika Geiss, (Assistant President Pro Tempore & Caucus Chair)
District: 1
address: Post Office Box 30036, Lansing, MI 48909-7536
phone: 517-373-7800
email: SenEGeiss@senate.michigan.gov
Representative Joe Tate, (Speaker of the House)
District: 10
phone: (517) 373-0857
email: joetate@house.mi.gov
Lt. Governor Garlin Gilchrist II, )
address: P.O. Box 30013, Lansing, Michigan 48909
phone: 517-335-7858
Minnesota
Senator Bobby Joe Champion, (President of the Senate)
District: 59
address: 3401 Minnesota Senate Bldg.,St. Paul, MN 55155
phone: 651-296-9246
email: sen.bobby.champion@senate.mn
Representative Esther Agbaje, (Assistant Majority Leader & Caucus Chair)
District: 59
address: 437 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155
phone: 651-296-8659
email: rep.esther.agbaje@house.mn.gov
Representative Cedrick Frazier, (Caucus Co-Chair)
District: 43
address: 439 State Office Building * St. Paul, 55155
phone: (651) 296-4255
email: rep.cedrick.frazier@house.mn.gov
Mississippi
Senator Derrick Simmons, (Senate Minority Leader)
District: 12
address: Capitol Office: Room: 405, P. O. Box 1018, Jackson, MS 39215
phone: (601)359-2224
email: dsimmons@senate.ms.gov
Representative Robert Lee Johnson III, (Minority Leader)
District: 94
address: Capitol Office: Room: 102-C, P. O. Box 1018, Jackson, MS 39215
phone: (601)359-3252
email: rjohnson@house.ms.gov
Representative Chris Bell, (Caucus Chair)
District: 65
address: 510 George Street, Ste 239, Jackson,
phone: 601-359-3237
email: chrisbell@thebellgroupms.com
Missouri
Senator Karla May, (Minority Caucus Chairwoman)
District: 4
address: 201 W. Capitol Ave., Rm. 225, Jefferson City, Missouri 65101
phone: 573-751-3599
Senator Brian Williams, (Assistant Minority Floor Leader)
District: 14
address: 7300 Dartmouth Ave., Suite 200, St. Louis, MO 63130
phone: 573-751-4106
Representative Richard Brown (D), (Assistant Minority Floor Leader)
District: 27
address: 201 West Capitol Avenue, Room 134, Jefferson City MO 65101
phone: 573-751-7639
email: Richard.Brown@house.mo.gov
Representative Marlene Terry, (Caucus Chair)
District: 66
address: 201 West Capitol Avenue Room 105-I Jefferson City 65101
phone: (573) 751-6845
email: Marlene.Terry@house.mo.gov
Nevada
Senator Dallas Harris, (Chief Majority Whip)
District: 11
address: 8020 South Rainbow Boulevard, Suite 100, #271, Las Vegas, NV 89139
email: Dallas.Harris@sen.state.nv.us
Assemblywoman Daniele Monroe-Moreno, (Speaker Pro Tempore & Caucus Chair)
District: 1
address: 5575 Simmons Street, No.154, North Las Vegas, NV 89031-9009
email: Daniele.MonroeMoreno@asm.state.nv.us
Assemblyman Cameron (C.H.) Miller, (Assistant Majority Floor Leader)
District: 7
address: 3053 West Craig Road, Suite E-183 North Las Vegas, NV 89032-5106
email: CH.Miller@asm.state.nv.us
New Jersey
Assemblywoman Shavonda E. Sumter, (Caucus Chair)
District: 35
address: 21 Mill St., Suite 5 Paterson, 07501
phone: (973) 925-7063
email: Shavonda@shavondasumter.com
Assemblywoman Shanique Speight (D), ( Deputy Parliamentarian)
District: 29
address: 50 Park Place, Lobby 5, Newark, NJ 07102
phone: (862) 237-9752
Assemblywoman Angela V. McKnight (D), (Deputy Majority Leader)
District: 31
address: 2324 John F. Kennedy Blvd., Jersey City, NJ 07304
phone: (201) 360-2502
Assemblyman Herb Conaway Jr. (D), (Deputy Speaker)
District: 7
address: Delran Professional Center, 8008 Rt. 130 North, Bldg. C, Suite 450 Delran, NJ 08075
phone: (856) 461-3997
Assemblyman Benjie E. Wimberly (D), (Speaker Pro Tempore)
District: 35
address: 301 Main St., Suite 360, Paterson, NJ 07505
phone: (973) 925-7061
New Mexico
Representative Pamelya Herndon, (Caucus Chair)
District: 28
address: P.O. Box 27724 Albuquerque, 87125
phone: 505-986-4248
email: pamelya.herndon@nmlegis.gov
New York
Senator Roxanne J. Persaud, (Majority Conference Secretary)
District: 19
address: 1222 East 96th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11236
phone: 718-649-7653
Senator Leroy Comrie, (Liaison to the Executive Branch)
District: 14
address: 113-43 Farmers Boulevard, St. Albans, NY 11412
phone: (718) 765-6359
email: comrie@nysenate.gov
Senator Kevin S. Parker, ( Majority Whip)
District: 21
address: 3021 Tilden Ave., 1st Floor & Basement Brooklyn, NY 11226-5107
phone: (718) 629-6401
email: parker@nysenate.gov
Senator Jamaal T. Bailey, (Deputy Majority Leader for Senate and Assembly Relations)
District: 36
address: 959 East 233rd St.Bronx, NY 10466-3207
phone: 718-547-8854
Senator Andrea Stewart-Cousins, (President Pro Tempore and Majority Leader)
District: 35
address: 28 Wells Avenue, Building #3, 5th Floor, Yonkers, NY 10701
phone: (914) 423-4031
email: scousins@nysenate.gov
Carl E. Heastie, (Speaker)
District: 83
address: 1446 East Gun Hill Road, Bronx, NY 10469
phone: 718-654-6539
email: Speaker@nyassembly.gov
Assemblywoman Vivian E. Cook, (Assistant Speaker)
District: 32
address: 142-15 Rockaway Blvd Jamaica, NY 11436
phone: 718-322-3975
email: CookV@nyassembly.gov
Assemblywoman Rodneyse Bichotte Hermelyn, (Majority Whip)
District: 42
address: 1312 Flatbush Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11210
phone: 718-940-0428
email: bichotter@nyassembly.gov
Assemblywoman Michaelle C. Solages, (Caucus Chair)
District: 22
address: 33 North Central Avenue Valley Stream, 11580
phone: 518-455-4465
email: SolagesM@nyassembly.gov
Assemblywoman Inez E. Dickens, (Deputy Majority Whip)
District: 70
address: 163 West 125th Street Suite 911 New York, NY 10027
phone: 212-866-5809
email: DickensI@nyassembly.gov
Assemblywoman Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes, (Majority Leader)
District: 141
address: 425 Michigan Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14203
phone: 716-897-9714
email: PeopleC@nyassembly.gov
Assemblyman Charles D. Fall, (Assistant Majority Leader)
District: 61
address: 853 Forest Avenue, Staten Island, NY 10310
phone: 718-442-9932
email: fallc@nyassembly.gov
Assemblyman Al Taylor, (Assistant Speaker Pro Tempore)
District: 71
address: 2541-55 Adam Clayton Powell Jr. Blvd. New York, NY 10039
phone: 212-234-1430
email: taylora@nyassembly.gov
North Carolina
Senator Dan Blue, (Senate Democratic Leader)
District: 14
address: 16 West Jones Street, Rm. 1129, Raleigh, NC 27601
phone: (919) 733-5752
email: Dan.Blue@ncleg.gov
Representative Kelly M. Alexander, Jr., (Caucus Chair)
District: 107
address: 300 N. Salisbury Street, Rm. 404 Raleigh, 27603-5925
phone: (919) 733-5778
email: Kelly.Alexander@ncleg.gov
Lieutenant Governor Mark K. Robinson, (President)
address: 310 N. Blount Street Raleigh, NC 27601
phone: 919-814-3680
email: mary.rehbein@nc.gov
Ohio
Senator Paula Hicks-Hudson, (Assistant Minority Whip)
District: 11
address: Senate Building: 1 Capitol Square, Ground Floor 057, Columbus, Ohio 43215
phone: (614) 466-5204
Senator Hearcel F. Craig, (Assistant Minority Leader)
District: 15
address: Senate Building: 1 Capitol Square, 2nd Floor 228, Columbus, Ohio 43215
phone: (614) 466-5131
Representative Terrence Upchurch, (Caucus Chair)
District: 20
address: 77 South High Street Floor 10 Columbus, 43215
phone: (614) 466-7954
email: rep20@ohiohouse.gov
Oklahoma
Senator Kevin Matthews, (Democratic Caucus Chair)
District: 11
address: 2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 516 Oklahoma City, OK 73105
phone: (405) 521-5598
Representative Regina Goodwin, (Assistant Minority Floor Leader)
District: 73
address: 2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Room 503, Oklahoma City, OK 73105
phone: (405) 557-7406
Representative Jason Lowe, (Caucus Chair)
District: 97
address: 2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Room 501 Oklahoma City, 73105
phone: (405) 557-7367
email: jason.lowe@okhouse.gov
Pennsylvania
Senator Vincent J. Hughes, (Appropriations Committee Chair)
District: 7
address: 2401 North 54th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19131
phone: (215) 879-7777
Representative Jordan A. Harris, ( Whip)
District: 186
address: 1444 Point Breeze Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19146
phone: (215) 952-3378
Representative Donna Bullock, (Caucus Chair)
District: 195
address: 2835 West Girard Avenue Philadelphia, 19130
phone: (717) 787-3480
email: dbullock@pahouse.net
Rhode Island
Senator Jonathon Acosta, (Caucus Chair)
District: 16
address: Central Falls, Pawtucket
phone: (401) 305-0545
email: sen-acosta@rilegislature.gov
Representative Leonela Felix, (Caucus Chair)
District: 61
address: 195 Carter Avenue Pawtucket, 02861
phone: (401) 365-4182
email: rep-felix@rilegislature.gov
South Carolina
Representative J. Todd Rutherford, (Minority Leader)
District: 74
address: 335B Blatt Bldg., Columbia 29201
phone: (803) 734-9441
Representative Annie E. McDaniel, (Caucus Chair)
District: 41
address: 330C Blatt Bldg. Columbia 29201
phone: (803) 960-5782
email: anniemcdaniel@schouse.gov
Tennessee
Senator Raumesh Akbari, (Senate Minority Leader)
District: 29
address: 425 Rep. John Lewis Way N., Suite 764 Cordell Hull Bldg. Nashville, TN 37243
phone: (615) 741-1767
Representative Sam McKenzie, (Caucus Chair)
District: 15
address: 425 Rep. John Lewis Way N. Suite 512 Cordell Hull Bldg. Nashville, 37243
phone: (615) 741-0768
email: rep.sam.mckenzie@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Larry Miller, ( Democratic Leader Pro Tempore)
District: 88
address: 425 Rep. John Lewis Way N., Suite 580 Cordell Hull Bldg. Nashville, TN 37243
phone: (615) 741-4453
Representative Karen Camper, ( House Minority Leader)
District: 87
address: 425 Rep. John Lewis Way N., Suite 664 Cordell Hull Bldg., Nashville, TN 37243
phone: (615) 741-1898
Representative Harold Love, Jr., ( Assistant Democratic Leader)
District: 58
address: 425 Rep. John Lewis Way N., Suite 668, Cordell Hull Bldg., Nashville, TN 37243
phone: (615) 741-3831
email: rep.harold.love@capitol.tn.gov
Texas
Representative Ron Reynolds, (Caucus Chair)
District: 27
address: Room 4N.7 P.O. Box 2910 Austin, 78768
phone: (281) 208-3574
email: ron.reynolds@house.texas.gov
Utah
Representative Sandra Hollins, (Minority Assistant Whip)
District: 21
address: PO Box 16462, SALT LAKE CITY, UT, 84116
phone: 801-363-4257
email: shollins@le.utah.gov
Virginia
Delegate Lamont Bagby, (Caucus Chair)
District: 74
address: Room E321 PO Box 406 Richmond, 23218-0406
phone: 804-698-1074
email: DelLBagby@house.virginia.gov
Washington
Senator T’wina Nobles, (Majority Whip)
District: 28
address: 416 Legislative Building, PO Box 40428, Olympia, WA 98504
phone: (360) 786-7654
Senator John Lovick, (Vice President Pro Tempore)
District: 44
address: 226 John A. Cherberg Building PO Box 40444, Olympia, WA 98504
phone: (360) 786-7686
Representative Jamila Taylor, (Majority Caucus Vice Chair)
District: 30
address: 418 John L. O'Brien Building, PO Box 40600, Olympia, WA 98504
phone: (360) 786-7898
Representative David Hackney, (Caucus Chair)
District: 11
address: JLOB 330 PO Box 40600 Olympia, 98504-0600
phone: (206) 490-0914
email: David.Hackney@leg.wa.gov
West Virginia
Representative Sean Hornbuckle, (Minority Leader Pro Tempore)
District: 25
address: Room 258M, Building 1, State Capitol Complex, Charleston, WV 25305
phone: (304) 340-3395
email: sean.hornbuckle@wvhouse.gov
Wisconsin
Representative Kalan Haywood, (Assistant Minority Leader)
District: 16
address: Room 119 North State Capitol, PO Box 8952, Madison, WI 53708
phone: (608) 237-9116
email: Rep.Haywood@legis.wisconsin.gov
Representative Dora Drake, (Caucus Chair)
District: 11
address: Room 19 North State Capitol PO Box 8952, Madison. 53708
phone: (608) 237-9111
email: Rep.Drake@legis.wisconsin.gov