LAW, JUSTICE, AND ETHICS (LJE)

Resolution LJE-23-10

COMMEND THE JANUARY 6 CONGRESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEE FOR THEIR PATRIOTISM AND PUBLIC SERVICE

WHEREAS, the events of January 6th were an attack on American Democracy and the tradition of the peaceful transfer of power;

WHEREAS, on July 1, 2021, the United States House of Representatives established the Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol for the following express purposes:

- (1) "To investigate and report upon the facts, circumstances, and causes relating to the January 6, 2021, domestic terrorist attack upon the United States Capitol Complex and relating to the interference with the peaceful transfer of power, including facts and causes relating to the preparedness and response of the United States Capitol Police and other Federal, State, and local law enforcement agencies in the National Capital Region and other instrumentalities of government, as well as the influencing factors that fomented such an attack on American representative democracy while engaged in a constitutional process.
- (2) To examine and evaluate evidence developed by relevant Federal, State, and local governmental agencies regarding the facts and circumstances surrounding the domestic terrorist attack on the Capitol and targeted violence and domestic terrorism relevant to such terrorist attack.
- (3) To build upon the investigations of other entities and avoid unnecessary duplication of efforts by reviewing the investigations, findings, conclusions, and recommendations of other executive branch, congressional, or independent bipartisan or nonpartisan commission investigations into the domestic terrorist attack on the Capitol, including investigations into influencing factors related to such attack";

WHEREAS, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi appointed the following nine members to the Select Committee:

- 1. Chairperson, Representative Bennie Thompson of the 2nd Mississippi Congressional District;
- 2. Representative Zoe Lofgren of the 19th California Congressional District;
- 3. Representative Adam Schiff of the 28th California Congressional District;
- 4. Representative Pete Aguilar of the 31st California Congressional District;
- 5. Representative Stephanie Murphy of the 7th Florida Congressional District;

LAW, JUSTICE, AND ETHICS (LJE)

Resolution LJE-23-10

- 6. Representative Jamie Raskin of the 8th Maryland Congressional District;
- 7. Representative Elaine Luria of the 2nd Virginia Congressional District;
- 8. Vice Chairperson, Representative Liz Cheney of Wyoming; and
- 9. Representative Adam Kinzinger of the 16th Illinois Congressional District;

WHEREAS, to date, the Select Committee has conducted eight public hearings and is reported to have interviewed over one thousand people as part of its investigation; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Select Committee have not wavered in the fulfillment of their continued duty to investigate the January 6th attack on the United States Capitol.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the National Black Caucus of State Legislators, that we commend Representative Bennie Thompson of the 2nd Mississippi Congressional District, Representative Zoe Lofgren of the 19th California Congressional District, Representative Adam Schiff of the 28th California Congressional District, Representative Pete Aguilar of the 31st California Congressional District, Representative Stephanie Murphy of the 7th Florida Congressional District, Representative Jamie Raskin of the 8th Maryland Congressional District, Representative Elaine Luria of the 2nd Virginia Congressional District, Representative Liz Cheney of Wyoming, and Representative Adam Kinzinger of the 16th Illinois Congressional District for the patriotism they have demonstrated and the public service they have performed as members of the Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED That a copy of this resolution be transmitted to the President of the United States, the Vice President of the United States, members of the United States House of Representatives and the United States Senate, and other federal and state government officials and agencies as appropriate.

Resolution ID: LJE-23-10

Sponsored by: Rep. Larry Miller (TN)

Policy Committee: Law, Justice, and Ethics (LJE)